Skip to content
August 2, 2011 / 74

It’s HOT… Again

Yep. It’s HOT again. But then it’s Summer. Summer is supposed to be HOT. Summer is hot to remind you of your “wish it was summer” foolishness last Winter.

So what are we all doing now?

“Wish it was WINTER!!!”

Careful what you wish for. You’ll probably get it. The Fates are nasty and unpleasant creatures.

Summer is a time to kick back. A time to go slow. A time to write with short sentences. The hotter it is, the shorter the sentences. That way you can read between swipes of the fan. Every period is a passing breeze.

Okay – so you have air conditioning and don’t even own a hand-held fan, the real ones with a piece of thin cardboard stapled to a stick. Wait until the power goes out. THEN you’ll wish you had one and you won’t be able to find the stapler. Maybe you should make one now and put it with the emergency candles and extra batteries?

I’m not going to work on the wheat today. It’s too hot for this old man to be out there sweating himself to death. Maybe tomorrow. And the Summer wheat is getting ready. That’s both a YEA! and a Boo! I have a lot of beans to weed and pick and can!

And the weeds in the wheat are taller than the wheat… but you can’t get in there to pull them. And like the Bible says – you’d just destroy the wheat by pulling up the weeds. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Rabbit is still in the wheat. Maybe I should study his survival skills and write a book. “Rabbit the Mammal – How To Survive in a Hostile Environment.” Yes. I admit it. I’m hostile to Rabbit. Do I need therapy?

I was in Town yesterday. I had to get more feed for the Guineas and the Chickens. While I was in the store, I saw they had “live traps” on sale. So I got a big one and a little one. I brought them home and set them up. Baited the big one with lettuce and water. This morning I figured out why they were on sale. Mr Rabbit had a nice dinner of fresh crisp lettuce, and fresh clean water. The trap is still set with the door still wide open.

So now I’m feeding and watering rabbit. Rabbit leads a charmed life. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I’ve decided what to do with Rabbit if I catch him/her. I’m going to take the trap cage, and move him outside of my rabbit fence, carry him some distance away – like far, far away, and let him go. And as he scampers off, I’ll yell at him, “Stay the hell out of my garden!”

I like the conflict of his choices. Being caged means freedom… or death… inside the fence he’s protected from predators. Outside… ummmm… not. Sure. Life is tough inside. But outside is deadly. But inside he’s just surviving. Outside he could have a real life. Just entering the trap is fraught with danger! But if he’s a rational creature, since nothing else I’ve done to remove him from his Garden of Eden has worked – he could be getting complacent, overconfident, presuming that if my past efforts have failed so miserably, then so too will my future efforts. Arrogant little twerp!

I think I’m taking this rabbit thing waaaaay too seriously! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

The Story of Rabbit is turning into an epic tale. If I triumph, will my readers go away? If I just keep trying and losing to Rabbit, will they think I’m too dumb to write a blog about organic gardening? If the epic goes on long enough and I turn it into a book, will I have to split royalties with Rabbit?

In a store yesterday, I saw a lady with a scrub top on that said “Occupational Therapy” and wondered if that meant that she helps people who hate their jobs so much they need therapy?

It’s hot.

TTFN!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cyndi Wiley / Aug 2 2011 18:01

    Dad, I just wanted to leave you a comment and say how much I enjoy reading your garden stories! I LOVE the bits about Rabbit! They remind me of the story of Peter Rabbit. As the story goes, I believe you would be considered Mr. McGregor for all the chasing you do of Rabbit in your garden ๐Ÿ™‚ I look forward to reading more bits about Rabbit ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Michael E Picray / Aug 2 2011 20:50

      Tnx! Always room for appreciation! I have fun with the garden stories… the economics stuff I feel is something I kinda HAVE to do to help folks understand what’s going on. Once they know, then they can do whatever suits them. And too… as I learn things about the garden, maybe it can help someone else avoid making the same mistakes? As to Mr McGregor… he was the victim in the theft of his winter food supply! Peter Rabbit was the Bad Guy!

Leave a Reply

