Skip to content
April 15, 2012 / 74

Stormy Night, Windy Day.

Last night I stayed up until about 02:30 watching the radar. I saw no less than four super cells draw a bead on our corner of the State, and then dissipate before they got here. I love our little weather anomaly!

Then today I was standing in the driveway talking to one of my daughters and the wind was blowing pretty strongly. We heard a CaRRRACK! and the sound of splintering wood, then watched as the top half of a venerable old oak came crashing down on a divider fence. The pictures don’t give you a sense of the size of this tree as there is no good comparison – but the main trunk of the tree is around 36 inches in diameter. The part of the tree that fell was about 25 inches in diameter and close to 25 to 30 feet long. I guess it’s time to bring the rest of the tree down before it falls and hurts someone or something.

While I was taking pictures, I heard a series of smaller “cracks” from the tree – and decided I didn’t need more pictures… and boogied away from there. 🙂

If you look carefully, you can see the fallen portion of the tree in the weeds and branches.

The branches in the foreground fell off the tree last fall. They are only about 12 to 16 inches around.

While we’re on the subject of weather – I drove across the Missouri River bottoms to Nebraska yesterday for the first time since last summer’s flood. In places the sand is over 6 feet deep… and the fields are not usable. Buildings and trees have high water marks that are taller than my pickup.

A factor that I bet not many folks are aware of is that the damage from last year’s floods is still happening. When you get a windy day like today, and with all that sand in the bottoms with NO wind breaks at all, what you get is the sand blaster effect – where a car parked in the driveway, for example, will have all the paint scoured off of one side of it (the up-wind side) and the glass will be etched.

The past year has not been kind to the Missouri river basin.

And while I was sitting here writing this, I heard a loud THUMP accompanied by the chickens and guineas making a lot of racket. So I got up to investigate, and found that the old dead tree by the barn had decided to move from outside the barn to INSIDE the barn. It’s not too bad, tho. It only took out two corrugated roof panels and poked a 12 – 16 inch hole in another one. And of course, the guineas lost their high branch roost.

Leave a Reply

