Skip to content
June 10, 2012 / 74

Snakey Howdy

I was walking to the hydrant (by the cow water tank) today and saw about a 6 or 7 foot black snake laying on the path. FAT little sucker! (which is good as that means it is eating a LOT of mice!) So I did what I needed to do… which was to start stomping my feet as if I was walking and was really BIG!, and taking really short steps so the snake would know I was behind him/her, but had time to get out of the way, and that I vibrated the ground when I walked so was probably BIG – thus the snake needed to MOVE! It didn’t move really fast, but it did move off away from me into an old pile of straw, and I got the bucket of chicken water I was after.

Me and the snakes around here… we have an understanding. ;-D

(BTW – this worked out because the snake was sort of stretched out and it was easier for it to go away from the vibration. Had it been coiled, I’d have either gone around or just backed off until it left. A coiled snake is feeling threatened, so it’s best to not push your luck. Although these snakes aren’t poisonous, their bite can be very painful and you can get infections from them.)

Leave a Reply

